Exploring Assisi – The Unintentional Pilgrimage (Part 1)

Me and my preggo bestie Trin, at Katie's wedding reception. It was a misty day, but we're actually on top of a mountain, overlooking the sea, in Lovran, Croatia.

Me (right) and my preggo bestie Trin, at Katie’s wedding reception. It was a misty day, thus hard to see much of the background, but we’re actually on top of a mountain overlooking the sea, in Lovran, Croatia.

In the summer of 2012, I went to Europe for a best friend’s wedding. Before I left, I quit my job of four years. I’d hated working there pretty much from the beginning, and had just been holding on until a better job came along. One never did. So it was with a mixture of trepidation and elation that I gave my notice. Jobs were scarce; what would I do for money? But the promise of an entire two weeks in Croatia and Italy, not a moment of which would be spent thinking about my gut-twisting, heart-palpitation-inducing job, filled me with a longing that I couldn’t ignore. I briefly imagined a long vacation, wasted with worrying about a pointless job back home, and realized that my limit had been reached. I called up my boss and resigned my position immediately.

From the moment my flight landed in Trieste, I was in heaven. My American girlfriend was marrying a Croatian sailboat captain, and two of his best friends drove into Italy to pick me up at the airport. On the way back to their hometown of Lovran, one friend spoke in Croatian and the other translated into passable English (much better than my Croatian): “What music is favorite of yours?” “How like you our country?” “You are best friend of Katie, yes?” The radio dial fluctuated between German pop music and Italian power ballads, interesting roadside attractions were pointed out, and one of the guys measured me up as a potential bridesmaid “score” – THAT look is universal.

In Croatia, I met up with my two best friends. One was getting married, and the other announced to me on the spot that she’d just found out she was pregnant with her first child. We celebrated that first night together with about a gallon of happy tears and another of freshly-made gelato. It was odd, because I was intensely sad to be being left behind, but also so happy to see my friends getting all that they desired. It was the kickoff of what was to be an emotional vacation; maybe it’s my nature as a Scorpio, but I can’t think of a better way to spend a couple of weeks in two of the most beautiful countries on earth than exploring the complexities of the soul.

Luckily, since I was with two of the people who know me best in the world, I was given the perfect mixture of alone time vs. together time in Lovran. I had time to explore the town on my own, sit on the beach, and drink espresso in the local internet cafe. But I also had the important honor of helping the bride Katie’s mother steam creases out of her wedding gown on her wedding day. I also felt beyond loved when Katie invited her best girlfriends to spend a few precious moments drinking champagne with her as she got dressed, put on makeup, and tried to relax before meeting her intended at the traditional pre-wedding party. At and after the ceremony, Croatian relatives who had never met any of Katie’s friends from the US knew me on sight, called me by name, and hastened to give hugs and make conversation, but no one was clingy or expected too much. When I was worn out from talking, there was a beautiful mountain-top balcony where I sat and had a glass of wine, enjoying the murmur of conversation in the background while a cool breeze from the ocean comforted me, the last of the unmarrieds, feeling a little melancholy at the end of the night.

The night after the wedding, I was back in charge of my emotions and decided to take full advantage of being relatively young and able to party. I went out with Katie’s younger twin cousins and some of their new Croatian friends, drinking beers and conducting a singalong down at the marina, then moving our party to a local late night bar. It was a raucous time, until I realized it was almost time to pack up and leave town in two hours…oops. At 6am the next morning, an extremely hungover and sleep-deprived Anna caught a ride back to Trieste, where I caught a bus to the train station, where I then caught a train to Venice. It was a good five hours of hating my life and hoping not to puke on my fellow passengers. But then: Venice. My eyes fill with tears just typing it. There’s no need to wax poetic. Let me just say that it’s one of my favorite places on earth. It never disappoints, and always draws me back. I’m always living for my next visit; the smell of salt water, the sound of music floating over the canals.

A wonderful meal on the island of Burano. House-made clam linguini, crusty fresh bread, and the restaurant's own house white, enjoyed al fresco on a drizzling day.

A wonderful meal on the island of Murano. House-made clam linguini, crusty fresh bread, and the restaurant’s own house white, enjoyed al fresco on a drizzling day.

After a too-short stay in Venezia, another train ride (this one much less hungover, thank goodness) conveyed me to unfamiliar territory: Perugia. Before visiting this Umbrian gem, the city honestly wasn’t even on my radar. In fact, I’d chosen to visit Perugia primarily because it was a short bus ride from my intended target: Assisi, home of Giovanni di Pietro di Bernardone, otherwise known as St. Francis. I didn’t spend enough time to have any great stories about the town, other than being awestruck by the massive Etruscan Arch (dating from the 3rd century BC), and falling in love with the tradition of a late night espresso and gelato at my local gelateria. In hindsight, I have no idea how I slept on that vacation. I think I had an espresso every time I passed a cafe, I never turned down a glass of wine (which should be a rule on any good vacation), and I know I ate gelato at least twice a day for two weeks!

The Etruscan Arch in Perugia, Italy.

The Etruscan Arch in Perugia, Italy. The photo doesn’t do justice to how imposing this 3rd century BC construction is in person. It seems indestructible.

My second morning in Perugia dawned bright and cool – perfect weather for a day trip to St. Francis’ hometown. I didn’t know what to expect. Before leaving the States, I’d decided that since I’d have a full week on my own in Italy, it would be a good idea to spend some of my time just shopping and eating (two of my top favorite pastimes), and the rest checking out architecture and religious relics. Assisi seemed like a fairly obvious choice, given my time constraints and an extremely basic knowledge of St. Francis – that he was an animal lover, displayed symptoms of what might today be concluded to be mental illness, and wasn’t too keen on fashion. Most of all, though, I was excited about visiting a town that hasn’t changed all that much through the centuries. Assisi is a walled medieval city, set against a stunning backdrop of rolling, verdant hills. I’d never seen anything like it in person, so why not? Francis would just be the icing on the cake.

Little did I know that this trip would set something in me on fire. Stay tuned for more on my awakening in Assisi, tomorrow…(Click here to read Part 2)

Basilica Papale di San Francesco, as seen from a street higher up in the town (it might have actually been someone's private courtyard, but no one told me not to stand there).

Basilica Papale di San Francesco, as seen from a street higher up in the town (it might have actually been someone’s private courtyard, but no one told me not to stand there).

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: With or Without You-Solving Conflict | Journeyman
  2. Daily Prompt: Complex « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Feuding Neighbors Create “Sno-Man’s” Land | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  5. A Very Big Mistake | Knowledge Addiction
  6. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  7. Brandon’s Mentor And The Daily Prmpt | The Jittery Goat
  8. When People Have More Faith in You than Yourself | Rima Hassan
  9. Drawing a line in the sand: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  10. Streetlight | 365 days of defiance
  11. Daily Prompt: Till Death do us Part? | Anniemation Floe
  12. A Game of Picnic | My Play Nook
  13. Stop Telling Lies Or Else! – Writing | wangsgard.com
  14. Torture of Four Years | Daily Prompt: With or Without You | likereadingontrains
  15. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Sabethville
  16. Get It In Gear | The Shotgun Girls
  17. Where are your gods now (a tale) | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  18. On the hook | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  19. Putting it All on the Line Prayers and Promises
  20. 268. Ultimatum | Barely Right of Center
  21. A Day Different | Random Blotches
  22. The 19th of June 1982 – Hometown, Pennsylvania | Forgotten Correspondance
  23. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | theshamelesswanderer
  24. Daily Prompt : With or Without You | Valley Girl Gone Country
  25. Life Is Complex | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  26. Me or him- it’s your choice | Animal Love
  27. Me or him- it’s your choice | A picture is worth 1000 words
  28. DP: Us or Them | Scorched Ice
  29. A picture is worth 1000 words
  30. WITH OR WITHOUT YOU: IT DOESN’T ALWAYS WORK OUT THE WAY YOU EXPECT | SERENDIPITY
  31. simple (senryu in three parts) | peacefulblessedstar
  32. Job or It’s The End Of You and Me! | Views Splash!
  33. Ultimatums and Death | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  34. Ultimatums and Triple Dog Dares! | meanderedwanderings
  35. Too late | Life is great
  36. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  37. Daily Prompt: With or Without You « Mama Bear Musings
  38. The Forever Choice | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  39. i would repeat you | y
  40. Only With You | A mom’s blog
  41. My Brother, the Incorrigible Drunk | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  42. In Line Of Fire | Flowers and Breezes
  43. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  44. Fighting Ultimatums | Ana Linden
  45. No More Contacts Please ! | My Life and My Career
  46. Nicki Minaj and A Free Fall. | meg lago
  47. Pointillism in Borneo | Mishe en Place
  48. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Basically Beyond Basic
  49. yesterday’s snow lets | y
  50. You Stop This NOW! | Buzzy Beez
  51. Idyllic way of traffic or nostalgia | Le Drake Noir
  52. Ultimatums are bad. All the time. Just say no. | Curious Jac

6 thoughts on “Exploring Assisi – The Unintentional Pilgrimage (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: The 19th of June 1982 – Hometown, Pennsylvania | Forgotten Correspondance

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: With or Without You | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Job or It’s The End Of You and Me! | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

