Spanish Lessons For The Road

Image via Brahmaloka or Bust.

Click through to read “The Yoga of Learning a Language” on Brahmaloka Or Bust.

Here’s a dirty little secret – I don’t speak a second language. It’s a shameful thing to admit, but thus far it hasn’t terribly affected my ability to travel and explore other countries on my own. I’ve spent a fair amount of time in places where people don’t speak English, and aside from a few rough moments (like trying to get my hair styled in a tiny Croatian town, or trying to find the nearest train station in Bratislava), I’ve been pretty lucky. There was the run-in with the knife-wielding, potentially deranged guy in Paris, but that was less about not speaking French than not spotting the nuances of insanity right off the bat.

This moderate success at travel in the past is probably why I’m being kind of lazy about learning Spanish in preparation for my pilgrimage. Well, that and the knowledge that lots of other pilgrims travel without a great command of Spanish and live to tell the tale. There will be thousands (or at least hundreds) of other people on The Camino when I walk it, after all, and I’m bound to meet other people who speak English. There’s a saying that The Camino will provide; I’m just hoping it provides me with a translator.

But therein lies the rub. If I fail to learn at least a little bit of some other language (aside from the minimal German I currently own, which mostly boils down to ordering beer and saying “please,” “thank you,” and “excuse me” – all extremely useful, but not so much in Spain), I’m going to be just one more jerk American who can’t be bothered to be a world citizen. I really don’t want to be that person. That person sucks.

I’ve just never been that good at languages, though. I took Spanish all through high school and have no recollection of more than the very basics like “water” and “bathroom” (as well as, oddly, how to order fish at a restaurant). In college, I took Latin and all but failed out every semester. The primary reason that I didn’t move further with my studies in medieval history after undergrad was that I’d have to learn Italian, German, and French to even apply to grad school, which for me, both then and now, is a completely incomprehensible goal.

I will admit that the one language I’d desperately love to learn is Italian. I adore Italy. It’s not a romantic thing – though it is an undeniably romantic place. It’s the fashion, the architecture, the lifestyle, and those beautiful Italian men, so quick to flirt, so deliciously unreliable. (OK, so maybe it’s just a little bit about the romance.) Since I plan to make a quick pit stop in Umbria before heading off to Spain, maybe I should learn Italian, too…

In all seriousness, though, I’ve been studying a little bit of Spanish and German over the last couple of months using a great free website/app called Duolingo. If you haven’t tried it out yet, I’d definitely recommend signing up now. It’s a fun way to pick up some vocabulary and test out your skill in both reading and speaking other languages. But I’m not convinced that I’ll become adept at conversational Spanish with solo online study, so I’ll probably end up joining a Meetup group to chat en español over coffee.

Did you walk the Camino without learning Spanish first? Weigh in here on how it worked out for you!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Basically Beyond Basic
  2. Istanbul – çok pahalı çok güzel | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Let’s talk in verse | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Teachable Moments Are The Last Refuge Of Tyrants | The Jittery Goat
  5. Concrete Navy | Exploratorius
  6. Daily Prompt: Take That Rosetta | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  7. Lovely language of love and lust – Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  8. Cat Tongues are rough | Purple Rosemary
  9. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  11. Screaming in Unheard Tongues | 365 days of defiance
  12. Give Me it ALL, Rosetta Stone | The Mercenary Researcher
  13. Daily Prompt: Being Fluent! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  14. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | Step It Up
  15. A Punch! | Hope* the happy hugger
  16. DP Daily Prompt: Take That Rosetta! | Sabethville
  17. Arena de Verona – Bucket List | My Little Avalon
  18. Daily prompt : Take That Rosetta | La chica de la burbuja
  19. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! « cognitive reflection
  20. Mother tongue | A mom’s blog
  21. Daily Post: Take That : TONGUE: They Call It Puppy Love | heysugarsugar
  22. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta! | imagination
  23. timoun radyan ini | peacefulblessedstar
  24. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | seikaiha’s
  25. Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta « Mama Bear Musings
  26. A Prayer | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  27. Puppy Tongues… | Haiku By Ku
  28. 262. New Fluency | Barely Right of Center
  29. ANYONE WANT SOME TONGUE? | SERENDIPITY
  30. Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. For the love of Urdu | Rima Hassan
  32. Daily Post: Tongue, served with a side of ‘Dukkitude’ | Violet Skye
  33. Languages of a Mom | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  34. Essential French | le chat dit
  35. To Learn Arabic | Flowers and Breezes
  36. Monday Sharing: Gender Reversals | The Valerie Nightshade Trilogy
  37. DP: Tongue | As I See It
  38. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta (Since you’ll never offer Quechua anyways) | “Music is what feelings sound like.”
  39. Grüezi! Daily Post | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  40. Languages | Ana Linden
  41. Can you blame me? | Casually Short
  42. Rosetta what? The Universal Language | In diesen Augenblick
  43. FRENCH. « ayimas
  44. Daily Post: Take that, Rosetta! | From a Place of…
  45. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet
  46. Cat Got Your Tongue? | Babsje Heron
  47. Ah! fluency | Life is great
  48. Daily Prompt: Photography Prompt Tongue | Nicola Kirk
  49. How Speaking French Could Make You Sexy! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  50. Got To Love those Tongues | Cee’s Photography
  51. Secrets and Adventures | Life Of A Cosmetologist!
  52. Take That, Rosetta! | The Nameless One
  53. Take That, Rosetta! and move your hands a lot. | The Uncustomary Housewife
  54. Second Language Wishes | Kimberly M. Ringer
  55. How to pronounce Llanfairpwllgwyngyll | Longish Staves of Prose
  56. What I Would Do: Language Rendition | Renée Hamlin
  57. Sign In | Emotional Fitness
  58. Let me see your tongue | Me, You and Zu
  59. Daily Prompt: February 10 | The Slow Race to the Future
  60. Yo deseo hablar español | djgarcia94
  61. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Diary of Dennis
  62. Another Language | “Crone-ing”
  63. HE LIFTS US UP: ACTS 2 | ChristianBlessings

6 thoughts on “Spanish Lessons For The Road

  1. It’s a very good idea.

  2. Pingback: Parlez Vous Francais? | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  3. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Speak To Me | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

